EECS 280: Programming and Intro Data Structures

Spring 2019

Computer science fundamentals, with programming in C++. Build an image processing program, a game of Euchre, a web backend, and a machine learning algorithm.

See the syllabus for all the details.

Heads up! Both sections 100 and 200 will regularly meet in 1013 DOW at 12pm.

Schedule


Open calendar in new window

Day # Lecture Topic Lab Topic Deadline
Tue 7 May 1 Introduction and Machine Model No lab
Wed 8 May 2
Procedural Abstraction, Testing and Debugging
Getting Started
Thu 10 May 3 Pointers
Mon 13 May 4 Pointers and Arrays Pointers and Arrays Project 1 due
Mon 13 May 8pm
Tue 14 May 5 Strings, Streams, and IO
Wed 15 May 6 Compound Objects Strings and IO
Thu 16 May 7 Abstract Data Types in C
Mon 20 May 8 Abstract Data Types in C++ Abstract Data Types Project 2 due
Tue 21 May 8pm
Tue 21 May 9 Derived Classes and Inheritance
Wed 22 May 10 Polymorphism Polymorphism
Thu 23 May 11 Container ADTs I
Mon 27 May No class - Memorial Day No lab
Tue 28 May 12 Container ADTs II Container ADTs
Wed 29 May 13 Midterm Review Project 3 due
Fri 31 May 8pm
Thu 30 May 14 Memory Models and Dynamic Memory Midterm Exam Review
Mon 3 June 15 Managing Dynamic Memory Midterm exam
Tue 4 June 6pm
Tue 4 June No Class - Midterm Exam No lab
Wed 5 June 16 Deep Copies and The Big Three Dynamic Memory
Thu 6 June 17 Linked Lists
Mon 10 Jun 18 Iterators Deep Copies
Tue 11 Jun 19 Function Objects and Impostor Syndrome
Wed 12 Jun 20 Recursion and Tail Recursion Functors & Function Pointers Project 4 due
Thu 13 Jun 8pm
Thu 13 Jun 21 Structural Recursion
Mon 17 Jun 22 Problem Solving with Recursion Recursion
Tue 18 Jun 23 Exceptions
Wed 19 Jun 24 Containers of Pointers Final Exam Review Project 5 due
Mon 24 Jun 8pm
Thu 20 Jun 25 Final Review
Mon 24-26 Jun No class No lab Final exam
Thu 27 Jun 8am
Thu 27 Jun Final Exam

People

James Juett

jjuett@umich.edu

12-1:30 1013 DOW

Windows, VS Code

Gardening, spicy foods, board games, escape rooms

John Kloosterman

jklooste@umich.edu

12-1:30 1013 DOW

Windows, VS Code

Dairy farming, Canada, road trips

Rahul Gangwani

rgangwan@umich.edu

2:30-4:30pm, M/W, 1014 DOW

MacOS, VS Code, Eclipse

Indiana, Yo-yos, Mexican food, cooking, and traveling

Claire Burton

cnburton@umich.edu

10:00am-12:00pm, T/Th, 1014 DOW

Windows, Visual Studio

Korean bbq, movies, jiu jitsu, coffee shops in Ann Arbor, Greek life

Carolyn Busch

clyn@umich.edu

1:30-3:30pm, T/Th, 1014 DOW

macOS, Xcode, Vscode

Directing, acting, research, books, cognitive science, and how to dye your hair

Alec Minchington

akminch@umich.edu

3:30-5:30pm, T/Th, 1014 DOW

Windows, Ubuntu, VSCode

Traveling to the UK, PC gaming, building computers, tech, youtube