EECS 280: Programming and Intro Data Structures

Spring 2020

Computer science fundamentals, with programming in C++. Build an image processing program, a game of Euchre, a web backend, and a machine learning algorithm.

This Week

   All times are EDT  

Mon 6/22
Tue 6/23
Wed 6/24
Thu 6/25
Fri 6/26
Grades

These are up-to-date on Canvas by 12pm noon:

Lectures
(3 Drops)
Labs
(2 Drops)
A1-A3
P1-P4
Entry Survey

Open Q/A

Ask us anything!

Questions about CS, next courses, lobsters, or anything else are welcome!

5-6:30pm
Information

P5 Due

11:59pm EDT


Exit Survey Due

11:59pm EDT

Grades

These are up-to-date on Canvas by 12pm noon:

P5
A4
Exit Survey
A1 Drop: If it helps your grade, A1 is adjusted to your A2-A4 avg.

Final Grades

Final grades submitted by Friday 12pm noon

Open calendar in new window

Schedule of Topics

Day # Lectures Sessions Labs Deadline
Tue 5 May 1 Introduction and Machine Model
Worksheet
Reading
No lab
Wed 6 May 2 Procedural Abstraction, Testing and Debugging
Worksheet
Reading
Thu 7 May 3 Pointers
Worksheet
Reading
Introduction, Memory Model
Worksheet
Fri 8 May
Mon 11 May 4 Arrays and Pointers
Worksheet
Reading
Project 1 due Mon 11 May 11:59pm
Tue 12 May 5 Strings, Streams, and IO
Worksheet
Reading
Pointers and Arrays
Worksheet
Wed 13 May 6 Compound Objects
Worksheet
Reading
Review
Thu 14 May No Lecture - Assessment Strings and IO
Worksheet
Assessment 1, Lectures 1-4, Thu 14 May
Information
Practice
Fri 15 May
Mon 18 May 7 Abstract Data Types in C
Worksheet
Reading
Add/Drop Deadline, Mon 18 May
Tue 19 May 8 Abstract Data Types in C++
Worksheet
Reading
Structs
Worksheet
Wed 20 May 9 Derived Classes and Inheritance
Worksheet
Reading
Thu 21 May 10 Polymorphism
Worksheet
Reading
Abstract Data Types
Worksheet
Project 2 due, Thu 21 May 11:59pm
Fri 22 May
Mon 25 May No Class - Memorial Day
Tue 26 May 11 Container ADTs I
Worksheet
Reading
Polymorphism
Worksheet
Wed 27 May 12 Container ADTs II
Worksheet
Reading
Review
Thu 28 May No Lecture - Assessment Container ADTs
Worksheet
Assessment 2, Lectures 5-10, Thu 28 May
Fri 29 May
Mon 1 Jun 13 Memory Models and Dynamic Memory
Worksheet
Reading
Tue 2 Jun 14 Managing Dynamic Memory
Worksheet
Reading
Mid-Term Check-In
Worksheet
Wed 3 Jun 15 Deep Copies and The Big Three
Worksheet
Reading
Project 3 due Wed 3 Jun 11:59pm
Thu 4 Jun 16 Linked Lists
Worksheet
Reading
Review Dynamic Memory and The Big Three
Worksheet
Fri 5 Jun Late Add/Drop Deadline, Friday June 5
Mon 8 Jun No Lecture - Assessment Assessment 3, Lectures 11-15, Mon 8 Jun
Tue 9 Jun 17 Iterators
Worksheet
Reading
Linked Lists
Worksheet
Wed 10 Jun 18 Recursion and Tail Recursion
Worksheet
Reading
Thu 11 Jun 19 Structural Recursion
Worksheet
Reading
Recursion
Worksheet
Fri 12 Jun Project 4 due Fri 12 Jun 11:59pm
Mon 15 Jun 20 Function Objects and Impostor Syndrome
Worksheet
Reading
Tue 16 Jun 21 Problem Solving with Recursion
Worksheet
Reading
Structural Recursion and Functors
Worksheet
Wed 17 Jun 22 Exceptions
Worksheet
Reading
Thu 18 Jun 23 Containers of Pointers and What's Next
Worksheet
Reading
Review P5, Maps, and Reflection
Worksheet
Fri 19 Jun Assessment 4, Lectures 16-22, Fri 19 Jun
Mon 22 Jun Project 5 due, Wed 24 Jun 11:59pm