EECS 280: Programming and Intro Data Structures

The University of Michigan
Spring 2021
Looking for Winter 2021?

Computer science fundamentals, with programming in C++. Build an image processing program, a game of Euchre, a web backend, and a machine learning algorithm.   Syllabus

So, here's the tea for week 3
Upcoming Deadlines:
  • Add/Drop deadline for spring term courses is Monday 5/17
  • Project 2 is due Tuesday 5/18 at 8pm (not at midnight!)
  • Computing CARES Entry Survey due Tue May 18 at 11:59pm
Announcements:
  • Project 3 (Euchre) released Wednesday. It's a long project. Start early and pace yourself!
  • Join us for a Euchre Social 2pm Wednesday! It's a great chance to learn the game for P3!
  • The midterm exam is June 2nd, 7-9pm. Double check your calendar. If you need an alternate, fill out the Alternate Midterm Exam Form now (if you haven't already)!
  • Looking for some guidance or want to optimize your experience in 280? Fill out the Coaching Interest Form and we'll connect you with a staff member.
  • We've gotten reports that Runestone's scores/timestamps seem inconsistent. Check Canvas for your authoritative lecture scores - we'll try to keep this updated frequently.
  • If you're looking for links from previous weeks, check the Schedule section below.

Add/Drop Deadline

  • Monday, May 17 is the regular add/drop deadline. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you are trying to make a decision and would like to talk it over.

This Week   Times listed in Ann Arbor local time (EDT)

Assignments
Project 2 due Tue May 18 8pm
Office Hours
Course Staff    Sign up
Mon 2pm - 8pm
Tue 5pm - 8pm
Wed 5pm - 8pm
Thu 2pm - 8pm
Fri 2pm - 8pm
Sat 2pm - 8pm
Prof. Juett   
Tue 10am - 11am
Wed 9pm - 10pm
Thu 10am - 11am
Or send me an email!
Live Events
Euchre Social
Wed 2-3pm
Project 3 Overview
Wed 7-8pm
Tips/Tricks: Using the Terminal
Thu 3-4pm

Administrative Request Forms

These links are now active!

Submit your SSD VISA form here to request extended time or other exam accommodations

Report an exam conflict and request an alternate date/time

Report an exam conflict and request an alternate date/time

Report a medical or personal emergency and request an extension or exception.

Students adding the course late may petition for additional time to turn in assignments.

Tutorials

Schedule

All times are listed as Ann Arbor local time (ET)

Day # Lecture Lab Events/Deadlines
Tue May 4 1 Introduction and Machine Model No lab
Wed May 5 2 Procedural Abstraction, Testing, and Debugging
Thu May 6 3 Pointers Getting Started
Fri May 7
Mon May 10 4 Arrays and Pointers
Tue May 11 5 Strings, Streams, and IO Pointers and Arrays P1 due Tue May 11
Wed May 12 6 Compound Objects IDE Tips/Tricks Project 2 Overview
Thu May 13 7 Abstract Data Types in C Strings and IO
Fri May 14
Mon May 17 8 Abstract Data Types in C++ Add/drop deadline
Tue May 18 9 Derived Classes and Inheritance Abstract Data Types Project 2 due Tue May 18
Wed May 19 10 Polymorphism
Thu May 20 11 Container ADTs I Polymorphism
Fri May 21
Mon May 24 TBA
Tue May 25 12 Container ADTs II TBA
Wed May 26 13 Memory Models and Dynamic Memory
Thu May 27 14 Managing Dynamic Memory Container ADTs
Fri May 28 Project 3 due Fri May 28
Mon May 31 No Class - Memorial Day
Tue Jun 1 15 Linked Lists No Lab
Wed Jun 2 No Class - Midterm Exam Midterm 7pm
Wed Jun 2
Thu Jun 3 16 Deep Copies and The Big Three Linked Structures
Fri Jun 4
Mon Jun 7 17 Iterators
Tue Jun 8 18 Recursion and Tail Recursion Dynamic Memory & Deep Copies
Wed Jun 9 19 Structural Recursion Project 4 due Wed Jun 9
Thu Jun 10 20 Function Objects and Impostor Syndrome Recursion
Fri Jun 11
Mon Jun 14 TBA
Tue Jun 15 21 Problem Solving with Recursion Iterators and Functors
Wed Jun 16 22 Exceptions
Thu Jun 17 23 Containers of Pointers and What's Next Final Exam Review and Reflection
Fri Jun 18
Mon Jun 21 TBA Project 5 due Mon Jun 21
Tue Jun 22
Wed Jun 23
Thu Jun 24 Final 8am
Thu Jun 24

People

Reach us at eecs280staff@umich.edu

James Juett head shot
James Juett
he/him

jjuett@umich.edu

Claire Burton head shot
Claire Burton
she/her
Ashley Carroll head shot
Ashley Carroll
she/her
Alex ElHamahmy head shot
Alex ElHamahmy
he/him
Sam Jaehnig head shot
Sam Jaehnig
she/her
Lizzy Lu head shot
Lizzy Lu
she/her
Natasha Saputra head shot
Natasha Saputra
she/her
Jennifer Tran head shot
Jennifer Tran
she/her
Kami Ziolkowski head shot
Kami Ziolkowski
she/her

Tutoring